

This Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document is provided as a resource to the procurement officers of the agencies, boards, and commissions of the State of Arizona. While the FAQ includes examples of legally compliant, procedurally efficient, and fiscally prudent processes, these are not the only such processes allowable under the Arizona Procurement Code (A.R.S. §§ 41-2501 et seq. and the rules thereunder, A.A.C. R2-7-101 et seq.) Depending on the circumstances surrounding a given procurement, deviation from this FAQ may be necessary or preferable. In the event of a discrepancy between an answer listed in this FAQ and applicable statute and rule, statute and rule shall prevail.

PURPOSE

The State Procurement Office (SPO) has made changes to Technical Bulletin 002 (TB 002) that will likely lead to questions from state governmental units and procurement professionals throughout the State. As a courtesy, this document will provide answers to common questions. This document is for informational purposes only and does not supplant or replace TB 002 as the official technical bulletin. This document may be revised at any time. Please contact SPO Compliance at SPOCompliance@azdoa.gov, if you have additional questions that are not addressed by this document.

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

Question: How many hours of procurement classes do I need to complete?

Answer: Delegations of procurement authority of \$10,000 or less are required to complete 10 hours of training per year. Delegations of procurement authority over \$10,000 are required to complete 20 hours of training per year.

Question: Do you count hours by calendar year or fiscal year?

Answer: Hours will be tracked by the State's fiscal year (July 1 to June 30).

Question: The hours listed on my transcript from TraCorp are different from the hours listed on TB 002. Which one is correct?

Arizona Department of Administration | State Procurement Office | Compliance

Document Title: **Delegated Authority** | Document ID: **FAQ TB 002**

Revision Date: 12/7/2022 | Revision Number: 2

Answer: The TraCorp hours (with the exception of microlearnings which are too short to count as credit hours). The hours listed on TB 002 are approximate. From a compliance standpoint, the focus is on the number of hours actually spent in training.

Question: Do I need to complete all of my training at the SPO?

Answer: No, the training may be from any locally or nationally recognized procurement organization, but must be relevant to procurement or contracts. With the exception of procurement ethics, classes should not be taken more than once within a three year period.

Question: Does Arizona Procurement Portal (APP) training count toward my training hours?

Answer: Yes.

Question: TB 002 says that additional training for APP may be required. If there is a change to these requirements, will I be notified?

Answer: Yes. Procurement officers will be alerted to any changes to TB 002 via SPO Alert. The most recent version of all SPO technical bulletins (including TB 002) is available at spointra.az.gov/resources/procurement-regulations.

Question: Does each microlearning count as a full credit hour?

Answer: While we encourage procurement officers to take advantage of the microlearnings offered by SPO, given they are typically less than five minutes long, they will <u>not</u> count toward training hours.

Question: Where can I find the most recent schedule of upcoming SPO Academy and APP Trainings?

The most recent SPO Academy Answer: Training schedule is available at spointra.az.gov/resources/spo-academy-training/spo-academy. The current APP Training includes microlearnings QRGs) available schedule (which and is at spointra.az.gov/arizona-procurement-portal/app-support/training.

Question: What if a class that is required in my first year of delegation is not offered by SPO?

Arizona Department of Administration | State Procurement Office | Compliance

Document Title: **Delegated Authority** | Document ID: **FAQ TB 002**

Revision Date: 12/7/2022 | Revision Number: 2

Answer: SPO intends to offer the required courses every year. If for some reason SPO does not offer a class, and it is not otherwise available through TraCorp, then SPO will waive that requirement.

Question: Should I retain documentation to show that I attend classes?

Answer: Yes. SPO has recently changed the SPO Form 208 (available at spointra.az.gov/resources/standard-forms-and-documents) so that procurement officers can document their team's training hours on a quarterly basis. In addition, SPO Compliance may request documentation to support any request for additional delegated authority or as part of a Procurement Compliance Review.

Question: How do I document time I spent as a trainer?

Answer: All time spent as a trainer should be multiplied by three prior to adding it to the SPO Form 208 (available at spointra.az.gov/resources/standard-forms-and-documents).

Question: I am a Chief Procurement Officer who delegates authority to others on my team. Do my sub-delegees need to take classes and follow TB 002 as well?

Answer: Yes. Anyone with delegated procurement authority needs to follow TB 002, and take classes to maintain their delegated authority.

Question: I have been the CPO of an unlimited delegation agency for five years. Do I need to complete all of the required courses?

Answer: The required courses only apply to newly-issued delegations.

Question: I recently started working for the State, but I had previous procurement training that is similar to the required classes. Do I need to take those classes again?

Answer: Probably not. SPO Compliance would be happy to look at any previous coursework to see if it covers the same subject areas as the required classes on a case-by-case basis, if you already had training before your first delegation of authority from the State. Please contact SPO Compliance at SPOCompliance@azdoa.gov.

Question: My agency provides a lot of training. Does any of that count toward the training hours required under TB 002?

Arizona Department of Administration | State Procurement Office | Compliance

Document Title: Delegated Authority | Document ID: FAQ TB 002

Revision Date: 12/7/2022 | Revision Number: 2

Answer: Yes, any training from your agency that relates to procurement or contracting can count toward the total number of training hours required under TB 002.

Question: If I am in charge of training my team, do I receive three times the credit for those training hours too?

Answer: Yes.

Question: I just attended a training, and I'm not sure whether SPO would consider it to be relevant to procurement or contracting. What should I do?

Answer: Any questions related to TB 002 may be directed to SPO Compliance at SPOCompliance@azdoa.gov.

Question: I have a delegation that I do not use. Do I need to follow TB 002 if I do not actually use my delegated authority?

Answer: Please contact SPO Compliance at SPOCompliance@azdoa.gov. If you have a delegated authority that you do not use, and would prefer to have your delegated authority modified or rescinded, SPO Compliance can assist with this.

Question: If I am presenting as a trainer for half an hour, do I get triple credit for that time?

Answer: Yes. Acting as a trainer for 30 minutes would give you an hour and a half of credit toward your training hours.

Question: I have presented on procurement and contracting issues for other procurement entities. Who do I talk to at SPO if I want to give my training to procurement officers at the State?

Answer: Please contact John Jimenez, SPO Chief Learning Officer, at <u>John.Jimenez@azdoa.gov</u>. SPO is always looking for new and innovative training to add to the SPO Training Academy.